Print    Close This Window
Eleven McCracken County High School Students Selected For Governor’s School for the Arts

Back row (left to right) Bennett Routen, Dawson Shelton, Owen Hibbs, Evie Robertson, Carson Bradford, and Logan Henson.
Front row (left to right) Vada Edwards-Bachuss, Audrey Barrett, Sydney Bell, Emma Bell, and Jill Nichols.
McCracken County High School students, Audrey Barrett (Vocal Music), Emma Bell (Vocal Music), Sydney Bell (Vocal Music), Carson Bradford (Drama), Vada Edwards-Bachuss (Drama), Logan Henson (Instrumental Music), Owen Hibbs (Drama), Jill Nichols (Instrumental Music), Evie Robertson (Drama), Bennett Routen (Vocal Music), Dawson Shelton (Vocal Music) have been selected as participants in the 2023 Governor's School for the Arts (GSA). 
The MCHS student designated as an alternate for Governor's Schools for the Arts is Connor Roberts (Vocal Music).
Every summer for over three decades, GSA and their faculty of professional artists/educators have guided over two hundred of Kentucky’s finest young artists through three weeks of incredibly intense (and incredibly fun) arts instruction. GSA auditions promising high school sophomores and juniors in nine different arts disciplines: Architecture and Design, Creative Writing, Dance, Drama, Instrumental Music, Musical Theatre, New Media: Still Photography and Film, Visual Art, and Vocal Music.
For three solid weeks residing on a college campus, the students discover the power of their art and their place as an artist. This year the program will be held at the University of Kentucky.