Print    Close This Window
McCracken County High School Wins First Place at WKCTC's 2020 President's Cup
News from West Kentucky Community & Technical College

For more information contact: Tammy Thompson, (270) 534-3215, [email protected]

McCracken County High School Wins First Place at WKCTC's 2020 President's Cup

Calloway County High School and Paducah Tilghman High School, Second and Third Place Winners

PADUCAH, KY (01/09/2020) Eight regional high schools competed in the 2020 President's Cup Academic Bowl held at West Kentucky Community and Technical College January 9.

McCracken County High School took home the top prize with Calloway County and Paducah Tilghman high schools winning second and third place trophies, respectively.

Other participating Kentucky high schools were Ballard Memorial, Graves County, Marshall County, Murray and St. Mary high schools.

"The West Kentucky Academic Association (WKAA) takes great pride in preparing our teams for Governor's Cup with this competition," said Rodney Holt, WKAA high school vice president. "It is a wonderful opportunity to showcase the talent and academic prowess that our students have in the region."

The WKAA competition consisted of individual written assessments in arts/humanities, language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, and quick recall matches.

The top five written assessment winners were chosen from each category. First place winners were:

   Arts/Humanities - Rachel Hwang, McCracken County
   Language Arts - Tyler Truitt, Paducah Tilghman
   Science (4-way tie) - Isaac Martin, Ethan Cain, Jay Turner, Calloway County and Travis Trimble, Paducah Tilghman
   Social Studies - Noah Ellis, McCracken County
   Mathematics - Ryan Chua, Paducah Tilghman

The Governor's Cup will be held at the district, regional and state levels. This year's state competition will be held March 14-16 in Louisville.

 McCracken County High School: (front row, left to right): Coach Tammy Bohannon, Caroline Wright, Ella McBee, Noah Ellis, Barrett Wagner, Sydney Woodard - (back row, left to right): Grant Eyer, Reese Bell, Mason Wooten, Ava Chuppe: