Voice Recognition
5347 Benton Road, Paducah, KY 42003 Phone: 270-538-4000

McCracken County Public Schools News Article

McCracken County High School Students Selected For Governor’s School for the Arts

Back Row (left to right) Kaitlyn Hall, Olivia Watson, Avery Bolton, Adyson Townsend, Jane Walsh, and Stewart Tolar. 
Front Row (left to right) Rachel Hobbs, Charlotte Polete, Kailen McGregor, Hannah Bryan, and Emily West.

McCracken County High School students, Avery Boulton (Vocal Music), Hannah Bryan (Visual Art), Kaitlyn Hall (Vocal Music), Kailen McGregor (Drama and alternate Creative Writing), Stewart Tolar (Instrumental Music-Brass), Adyson Townsend (Drama and alternate Musical Theatre), Jane Walsh (Visual Art), Olivia Watson (Vocal Music), and Emily West (Creative Writing) have been selected as participants in the 2022 Governor's School for the Arts (GSA). 
MCHS students designated as alternates for Governor's Schools for the Arts include: Rachel Hobbs (Creative Writing) and  Charlotte Polete (Visual Arts).
Every summer for over three decades, GSA and their faculty of professional artist/educators have guided over two hundred of Kentucky’s finest young artists through three weeks of incredibly intense (and incredibly fun) arts instruction. GSA auditions promising high school sophomores and juniors in nine different arts disciplines: Architecture and Design, Creative Writing, Dance, Drama, Instrumental Music, Musical Theatre, New Media: Still Photography and Film, Visual Art and Vocal Music.
For three solid weeks residing on a college campus, the students discover the power of their art and their place as an artist. This year the program will be held at the University of Kentucky.

Print This Article