McCracken County Schools Logo
Mccracken County Schools
5347 Benton Rd.     Paducah, KY 42003
Phone: 270-538-4000
Menu Icon McCracken County Public Schools
BOE Highlights May 2018 Meeting

Board members approve contract with Sherman Carter Barnhart for the design and construction of the new Lone Oak Middle School

Board members unanimously agreed Tuesday night to enter into a contract with Sherman Carter Barnhart Architects of Lexington, Louisville and Paducah for the design and construction services of the new Lone Oak Middle School.

Their selection of SCB Architects came after a May 1 board work session during which four architectural firms presented, including SCB as well as JRA Architects of Lexington, the Murphy Group of Lexington, and the RBS Design Group of Owensboro.

“We’re excited about the project,” said SCB President Mike Smith. “We’re excited about being able to help the students in Lone Oak really achieve their greatest potential, and build the best school and safest school in Kentucky. We’re very thankful for this project, and I wanted to come down personally as president of the company and express our gratitude to you all for selecting us.”

“And I just want to thank you for your trust in us, in our team, and me,” said Holly King of the SCB Paducah office. “The only way I know how to thank you is to jump in and do a great job.”

Board members approve phase-in of 3.25% raise for all employees, once again making the MCPS certified salary schedule the highest in the area

Board members voted unanimously Tuesday night to approve a two-year phase-in of a new salary schedule, giving a roughly 3.25% raise in 2018-19 to teachers and classified staff with 10+ years of experience, and a roughly 3.25% raise in 2019-20 to teachers and classified staff with 0-9 years of experience. Phasing in the changes will allow the majority of teachers and staff to experience the raise immediately, explained Assistant Superintendent Johnna DeJarnett, while also allowing the district to absorb the financial impact over two years.

These changes were the result of annual Professional Negotiations with the McCracken County Education Association, and will once again make MCPS certified teacher salary schedule the highest in the area.

Students recognized for academic achievements, acceptance to prestigious programs

McCracken County High School’s Family, Career and Community Leaders of America chapter was awarded the FCCLA 2018 National 1st Place High School Student Body Award for its peer education project, “Tooth Fairy on Tour.” The project’s goals were to educate teens on the importance of good oral hygiene and healthy eating, and for those teens to then teach what they learned to elementary and preschool students. MCHS FCCLA will receive a $1,000 award and recognition at the 2018 FCCLA National Leadership Conference June 28 to July 2 in Atlanta, GA.

MCHS senior Carlissa Frederich became only the second Kentuckian and first western Kentuckian to win the National American Legion High School Oratorical Scholarship Program, held in Indianapolis in April. From her victories at the district, regional, state and then national level, she received a total of $22,400 in scholarships. She was also recently recognized as the Paducah Bank Teen of the Year.

Three MCHS sophomores were selected to attend the Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science at Western Kentucky University, Class of 2020: Jason Qiu, Alec Ramos, and Annissa Roberts.

The Gatton Academy is Kentucky’s first state-supported, residential program for high school students with interests in advanced science and math careers, and one of only 15 such programs in the nation.

Several MCHS students were also accepted into prestigious summer programs, including the Governor’s Scholars Program: Abigail McKinney, Lillian Swanz, Reem Turkmani, Katelyn Woodard, Weston Harper, Cannon LaFont, Allison Hane (alternate), and Lanie Miller (alternate).

The Governor’s School for the Arts: Lucas Bohannon (Drama), Sydney Tharp (Film and Photography), Zachary Farmer (Musical Theatre), Natalie Eastes (Dance), Madison Mitchell (alternate - Dance), Morgan Thompson (alternate - Film and Photography), and Hailey Watson (alternate - Musical Theatre).

Governor’s School for Entrepreneurs: Barrett Wagner, Graham Hill, Hutch Huskey, and Savannah Johnson (alternate).

2017-18 Fred Factor nominees narrowed to 10 finalists among district support staff

Board members started a new tradition Tuesday night, taking a moment to recognize outstanding support staff nominated throughout the year for “being like Fred.” Fred, a postman that goes above and beyond to help people on a daily basis, is the inspiration behind the book Fred Factor, and the inspiration behind the Fred Factor Award.

“Often our classified staff go unnoticed, but they are the energy, that wheel that keeps the schools going,” said Dan Pope, Director of District-wide Programs. “The hardest part was trying to determine just 10 individuals out of the many who were nominated.”

The 10 finalists recognized were:

=      Valerie Helm of Central Office

=      Michele Nelson of Central Office

=      Carl Wells of Central Office

=      Jennifer Nussbaumer of HES

=      Johnna Brookshire of HLOE

=      Carrie Moore of HLOES and LOE

=      Connie Hawkins of RES

=      Stacie Walton of CES

=      Jenna Shelby of HES

=      Marilyn Tucker of LOMS, 2018 Fred Factor Award Winner

Of Tucker, LOMS Principal said, “She is infectious. She is a difference maker. She is LOMS.”

Tucker accepted her award to a standing ovation. “Just, thank you,” she said. “I’m very, very honored.”

“It doesn’t matter what role you play,” Superintendent Brian Harper said. “The key is, everyone plays a role for students.”

Tucker will represent MCPS at the statewide Fred Factor Awards in July in Frankfort.

Print This Article
McCracken County Schools
District Office
5347 Benton Rd. Paducah, KY 42003
Phone: 270-538-4000
Nondiscrimination Statement
Students, their families, employees, and potential employees of McCracken County Schools are hereby notified that the McCracken County School System does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, religion, marital status, sex or disability in employment, vocational programs, or activities set forth in compliance with federal and state statutes and regulations. Any persons having inquiries concerning McCracken County Schools™ compliance with Title II, Title VI, Title IX and/or Section 504 may contact: Director of Special Education and/or Director of Personnel and/or Director of Pupil Personnel, 5347 Benton Road, Paducah, KY 42003, (270) 538-4000. The McCracken County School System offers the following career and technical programs for all students regardless of race, color, national origin, including those with limited English proficiency, sex or disability in grades 9-12: Agriculture, Business and Office Technology, Technology and Pre-Engineering. Persons seeking further information concerning the career and technical education offerings and specific pre-requisite criteria should contact: Mr. Michael Ceglinski, Principal of McCracken County High School, 6530 New Highway 60 West, Paducah, KY 42001, 270-538-4300, To obtain this information in a language other than English, call 270-538-4000.
504/ADA | Director of Special Education and/or Director of Personnel
5347 Benton Road
Paducah, KY 42003
(270) 538-4000
Title IX | Director of Pupil Personnel
5347 Benton Road
Paducah, KY, 42003
(270) 538-4000
© 2019. All Rights Reserved.
School CMS Created by eSchoolView

McCracken County Schools
5347 Benton Road
Paducah, KY 42003
phone:  270-538-4000
Facebook icon
Twitter Icon
View text-based website