McCracken County Schools Logo
Mccracken County Schools
5347 Benton Rd.     Paducah, KY 42003
Phone: 270-538-4000
Menu Icon McCracken County Public Schools
McCracken Teachers Recognized For Outstanding Contributions To Education

McCracken teachers recognized for outstanding contributions to education


Fourteen McCracken County educators were recognized for their service at the second annual WKCTC Regional Educators Awards and Scholarship Program March 7.


McCracken had nominees in every award category, with Heath Elementary 2nd Grade Teacher Rachel Dodson winning the Distinguished Faculty Award (Pre-K-5th), and McCracken County High School Math Teacher Stephanie Hinz winning the Distinguished Faculty Award (6th-12th).


“I was extremely shocked and humbled, because I feel like there are so many teachers that do amazing things every day,” Dodson said of the award. “For me to be recognized was just mind-blowing.”


Hinz echoed Dodson, commending her fellow educators for all they do for students. At the end of the day, it’s the kids that make teaching so rewarding, she said. 


“I just love curious kids — curious kids who want to learn.”


In conjunction with the awards program, WKCTC established a scholarship for students studying to become educators to encourage and assist the region’s future educators. Dodson and Hinz, who have been teaching for 24 and 17 years respectively, had a few pieces of simple advice for those future teachers:


“Love each child, wholeheartedly,” Dodson said. “Each child is special in their own way, and we need to embrace that so that they can be great citizens when they grow up.”


“Never settle,” Hinz said. “There’s always reflection that can be done and improvements that can be made to your work. You can always change something to make it better.”


Other McCracken honorees included:

Distinguished Administrator: Nominees Laine Cooper, Heath Elementary principal; Tina Hayes, McCracken Preschool and elementary programs director; and Samantha Tabor, Reidland Elementary assistant principal.

Distinguished Faculty (Pre-K-5th): Nominees Danette Humphrey, Lone Oak Intermediate 5thGrade reading/writing teacher; Jennifer Lacey, Heath Elementary 5thgrade teacher; Katrina Masek, Hendron-Lone Oak Elementary 1stgrade teacher; and Dylan Sonnek, Hendron-Lone Oak Elementary special education teacher.

Distinguished Faculty (6th-12th): Finalist Lisa Skipworth, McCracken County High School dual credit college algebra teacher. Nominees Amy Scott, McCracken County Schools special education teacher; Jennifer Shidal, McCracken County High School English teacher.

Cornelia Reece Unsung Hero Staff Award: Finalist Stacy Thomas, McCracken County High School Youth Services Center director and Nominee Valerie Helm, McCracken County Schools student information system coordinator.



Heath Elementary 2nd Grade Teacher, Rachel Dodson 




McCracken County High School Math Teacher, Stephanie Hinz

Print This Article
McCracken County Schools
District Office
5347 Benton Rd. Paducah, KY 42003
Phone: 270-538-4000
Nondiscrimination Statement
Students, their families, employees, and potential employees of McCracken County Schools are hereby notified that the McCracken County School System does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, religion, marital status, sex or disability in employment, vocational programs, or activities set forth in compliance with federal and state statutes and regulations. Any persons having inquiries concerning McCracken County Schools™ compliance with Title II, Title VI, Title IX and/or Section 504 may contact: Director of Special Education and/or Director of Personnel and/or Director of Pupil Personnel, 5347 Benton Road, Paducah, KY 42003, (270) 538-4000. The McCracken County School System offers the following career and technical programs for all students regardless of race, color, national origin, including those with limited English proficiency, sex or disability in grades 9-12: Agriculture, Business and Office Technology, Technology and Pre-Engineering. Persons seeking further information concerning the career and technical education offerings and specific pre-requisite criteria should contact: Mr. Michael Ceglinski, Principal of McCracken County High School, 6530 New Highway 60 West, Paducah, KY 42001, 270-538-4300, To obtain this information in a language other than English, call 270-538-4000.
504/ADA | Director of Special Education and/or Director of Personnel
5347 Benton Road
Paducah, KY 42003
(270) 538-4000
Title IX | Director of Pupil Personnel
5347 Benton Road
Paducah, KY, 42003
(270) 538-4000
© 2019. All Rights Reserved.
School CMS Created by eSchoolView

McCracken County Schools
5347 Benton Road
Paducah, KY 42003
phone:  270-538-4000
Facebook icon
Twitter Icon
View text-based website